Leadership and Legacy lessons from “The Book Thief”

Leadership and Legacy lessons from “The Book Thief”

I’ve just had one of the most moving experiences of my life. More aware than ever of my own mortality and the need to bring joy to everything we do and to live life with purpose, – I’ve just finished watching “The book thief” at our local cinema, the Regal, in Evesham.

The book thief is a story about a young girl living with her adoptive German family during the reign of Adolph Hitler. Taught to read by her kind-hearted foster father, the girl begins “borrowing” books and sharing them with the Jewish refugee being sheltered by her foster parents in their home.

Above everything else, I’d advise you take tissues, yes I cried and I hope you do too. Cry because you’re thankful for what you have, cry because you realise you have more to give and cry because you are touched by the legacy of humanity and the way in which individuals collectively or individually have the opportunity to stand up for what they believe and make a difference.

It’s incredibly moving, but I’m not just writing to tell you to go see it – oh no. The reason I’m writing is because it reinforces the difference each and everyone of us makes when we live and work with purpose and are clear in our own minds about the legacy we wish to lead.

In a world of potential short termism, we each have the opportunity to be greatful for what we have, whilst focusing on what we want to achieve. As leaders and ‘followers’ we have the chance to reflect on the greater good we want to deliver and the impact this search and striving for something greater has on those around us, our customers perceptions and the longevity of our business.

The book thief touched me deeply and made me stop and pause about my purpose, which I’ve written about before, and to re-ask myself these questions, I found them enlightening. I’d love to hear your thoughts:

>What am I grateful for?
>What is going well in my life?
>What do I want my legacy to be?
>What should I stand up more strongly for and what should I let go?
>How could I live more purposefully?
>How could I help others live to more purposefully?
>Where in my life would I like greater meaning?

If you would love to bring greater meaning to what you do, achieve more of your desired outcomes or fashion your legacy to a greater degree, I’d love to hear from you.

Stefan

Tel: +44 (0) 77369 42382
E-mail: stefan@yourleadershipcounsel.co.uk
Website: http://www.yourleadershipcounsel.co.uk

Stefan Powell is Your Leadership Counsel and has been developing leaders, teams and organisational capability for change for well over a decade. Inspiring, committed and devoted to the success of his clients, he excels in working 1:1 with leaders and business owners to bring inspiration, clarity and focus to everything they do.

Sample testimonial

“Inspirational – easy, thorough and methodical to work with while also intuitive, imaginative, creative, incredibly flexible and very accommodating”. Wendy Stern – Chair of Action For Involvement – http://www.actionforinvolvement.org.uk

Leave a Reply

