Is 50% enough?

Today a colleague shared that they enjoy what they do less than 50% of the time. Which led to a discussion about how they could increase the level of enjoyment they got from what they do. It also got me reflecting…

I’m incredibly proud…

I’m incredibly proud to say that those I work with often tell me that they can tell I love what I do and I’m incredibly happy to say that I do. 

Don’t get me wrong there are moments when I pause and think oh no not this again (or words to that effect) and then I reflect on how I’ll buzz off what I get to do, helping leaders make a difference to their people, and the resulting smile that they and I will have at the end of the process.

It’s what drives me everyday to strive to be better than the day before.

Steve Jobs…

Steve Jobs once said that “The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle”. 

Leadership is about doing great work and you don’t tend to do that when you’re unhappy. 

What’s more; personal dissatisfaction is likely to be disengaging your people; which is estimated to cost the US economy alone $370 BILLION annually. (Gallup)

So, how much of your job do YOU love?

If it’s less than 50%; is 50% enough? I don’t think so and its time to increase that figure. 

For every 5 days you’re at work, 2.5 days of your working week (assuming you don’t work weekends) are likely to be less productive than they could be and in turn your people need you to be. 

Change happens…

In the words of Tony Robbins “Change happens when the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change”. Answer the following:

  • What is it costing you to not find joy in your working life every day?
  • What would it mean for you and those around you to feel fulfilled by what you do?

You don’t have to throw out the bath with the bath water…

Making that change doesn’t have to start with throwing the bath out with the bath water, in fact a great place to start is with identifying when you’re already happy in your work; I’m hopeful those times exist for you – no matter how hard you might need to look at times.

Assuming you’d like things to be different; ask yourself:

  • When are you at your happiest?
  • When does work feel effortless?
  • When work does feel effortless?
  • What are you doing?
  • What are you talking about?
  • What are you feeling?
  • Who is with you?
  • Where are you?

Change happens…

Now, having identified when you already enjoy what you do, consider:

  • What changes would you need to make to enjoy what you do more often? 
  • What would you need to believe?
  • Who would you need to become?

A wise man once told me…

A wise man once told me that you “don’t have to be great to get started, but you have to get started to become great”. So, when will you get started?

If you’ve enjoyed this and found it beneficial…

I’d love to hear from you.

  • Twitter: @stefanpowell
  • E-mail: stefan@yourleadershipcounsel.co.uk 
  • Phone +44 (0) 7736942382

Who am I? Stefan Powell…

I am yourleadershipcounsel, a father, husband, part time rock star and passionately bonkers about helping leaders get the most from themselves and their people.

Why do I do what I do? Making a difference…

“Stefan helped us focus on our goal neutrally and objectively, could we have done this on our own, probably! Would we have done it probably not!” – Russ Hobson – Agent – NFU Mutual

Leave a Reply

